Pets

Willis

 

Pets. That’s the theme for Blog Every Day in May today. As much as I love animals, we’ve not had many pets. Both my husband and I work full-time, so it’s not fair to have a pet that requires attention, it also makes holidays an extra hassle, trying to find someone to look after it. Aside from the obligatory goldfish and hamster when I was at school, the only pet I’ve had was my budgie, Willis.

Named from the character from Different Strokes, mostly so that we could say “what choo talkin’ ’bout, Willis?”, he was a gorgeous wee thing. Although he never learned to speak (we tried) he was a little chatterbox and I was often woken up in the morning with his chirping. After he died (a thoroughly traumatic time for me and my husband) we fully planned to get another budgie, but every time we go to the pet shop to look at birds, we realise that we just can’t replace Willis.

We have been thinking about maybe (possibly) getting a cat. We cat-sit for friends occasionally and we really enjoy having her to stay, but we’re equally happy to have our lives back after she leaves! I’m sure we’ll consider it a bit more, whether we make a decision is another matter!

Leave a Reply

